Asher Hayes, Ch. 26

Cid left, but Asher Hayes stuck around for the remainder of Rise to Greatness. He watched as Regan and Selena captured the Tag Team Championships, something he felt A/C Unit would get a shot at had they beaten Dark Fantasy. He watched as David Helms won his first ever Rise to Greatness main event, securing his second World Championship. He couldn’t help but feel somewhat envious of the man’s accomplishments, as Asher Hayes was once again, leaving empty handed. He was, once again, feeling the lingering effects of a loss.

He’d been back a year. In that time, he had picked up two Adrenaline title reigns, but nothing else. He picked up a few wins here and there, but it felt like the losses had more impact. Not only on the fans, but Asher himself. He’d spent a little bit of time wondering if the contract Sasha had drawn up, would have been worth signing. Cid’s return grabbed his attention. It was as if it made him care, like he wanted to stay. Not only wanted, but NEEDED to stay, so he re-signed with the SCW. And what did that get him? Failing on the biggest stage of them all, eating the pin.

Asher had seen Josh Hudson get pinned by Blake Mason earlier in the night. It was a shock to many, but he felt differently about it. He couldn’t help, then as he sat in the locker room, but wonder if it was truly time to put up the boots. To leave his sunglasses and leather jacket in the center of the ring. To leave the wrestling world behind.

“So, do you agree to these terms?” Sasha had asked.

He eyed the contract one more time, gripping the pen in his hand, clicking it nervously. “I’m glad we got rid of the constant drug screens and physicals.” He said, trying to be funny. As usual, the boss didn’t seem amused. “But, yes. Everything looks good.” A sigh escaped him as he clicked the pen once again before putting ink to paper. “I am all yours for three years. Take that however you wish.” He slid the contract toward her.

“I’ll take it as you agreeing to remain employed with Supreme Championship Wrestling,” Sasha stated, as she picked the contract up from her desk. “While there aren’t any drug screens or physicals, as I feel you’ve been put through the ringer and passed with flying colors each time, I have to admit I was a little hesitant to make an offer.”

Her statement left him puzzled. “Why do you say that? I’m consistent in the ring when I get the chance to actually wrestle. I sell enough merchandise to feed a third world country. Okay, maybe not that much…”

She cut him off. “Asher, not everything is a joke.”

He cleared his throat. “Is that why you had your doubts? Because you think I find everything to be a joke?”

Sasha shrugged. “Well, since we’re open and honest with one another, to answer your question. Yes.” He felt like he was being leveled slowly but surely, bit by bit. “You’re an incredible athlete. You have proven you can go when the bell rings. But you allow that to be overshadowed with a never-ending stream of toilet humor.”

Asher sighed once again, leaning forward in his seat, as they locked eyes. “I’m sorry that I’m not super serious all the time. I don’t know about you but that seems to get boring. Does it not?” He asked, rising to his feet. “It has to, right?”

“What you find boring, isn’t that to me.” She began. “It shows me that they want to be here. That they want to climb the ladder. That they want to achieve a litany of success.”

“And I’ve not shown that?” He questioned, hearing the tension and aggravation in his voice loud and clear. Asher told himself he needed to dial it back. He may have signed a contract, but the finishing touches hadn’t been placed yet, so he could lose his job if he didn’t.

She shrugged once again. “I think you did when you first returned. You had that fire. But now, that fire…is something you just talk about. I mean, let’s be honest. We both know you want to become World Champion, but then again, so does everyone else. What sets you apart?”

“I’m not boring.” He fired away. “I believe we’ve established that.”

Sasha rolled her eyes, scoffing in the process. “You think leaning on jokes and stuff someone like Shawn Winters or Ace Marshall used back in 2008 isn’t boring?” Fuck, he thought. She was cutting him to his core, opening him up to the truth he knew he’d ignored. “Your act, your little shtick, is boring. That is the very definition. You’re not evolving, Asher.”

“Okay, take it easy.” He said, putting his hands up. “I don’t think I can take much more of this abuse.”

“I’m just letting you know that you’re your own worst enemy, in terms of your success, or lack thereof.” She sighed then. “Look, Asher. I like you. You’re an important piece of SCW history. You do sell merchandise and tickets. You do put on good performances.” Another sigh escaped her. “But I didn’t want to offer you a contract if you’re just going to continue going through the motions. I feel there’s potential to you. I feel you’re just not tapping into it.”

He scoffed, shaking his head. Her words reminded him of his own thoughts and feelings toward himself just months prior. “It’s funny you say that. I’ve felt the same way for quite some time. Even I was hesitant to re-sign, but Cid came back. I’m having fun. I think we take the win at Rise to Greatness.”

“That’s a good attitude to have, but you need to remember who you’re in there against. Syren. Rayvn. Two of the greatest wrestlers to ever grace the SCW. They can pick you apart. They don’t hesitate. They don’t doubt themselves.”

“I don’t doubt myself.” He said, cutting her off, hoping he sounded as strong as he wanted to, because deep down, Asher knew he was starting to do just that. For all his macho bravado, the doubt always remained.

“I’ll repeat myself. They don’t doubt themselves, Asher.”

The memory faded as he sat in his locker room. The hallways filled with celebration due to David’s big win. He wanted to show his appreciation, but Asher couldn’t muster the strength to do so. He was too disappointed, and he didn’t want anyone to see that. Hell, he thought. I don’t even want to see it. He spent the rest of the night in the locker room, getting a shower and getting dressed, waiting for the rest of the roster to clear out, before he did the same, catching a cab to his hotel. He had no reason to celebrate. He didn’t even want to have a few drinks at the bar. Asher didn’t want to be around anyone else who was okay with losing, or who had tasted victory that night. He went to his room, kicked off his shoes and laid in the bed.

When morning arrived, Asher went to the airport. He signed a few autographs, but no one seemed too interested in his presence. He felt that, but he also understood. He slept on the plane. He wasn’t sure what else to do.

Kristen met him at the airport after he arrived in Chicago. He was happy to be home, and ready for the break that typically followed Rise to Greatness. It was typically a time to recharge the batteries. To just relax, but Asher didn’t think he’d be able to. Losing at Rise to Greatness bothered him more than he actually let on. Not even putting it into words would do it justice, he thought.

“Welcome home, Asher.” Kristen said, as they embraced. Nothing had ever been officially said, but they were a couple, he figured.

“Is that my pet name?” He asked, giving her a grin.

“I’m sure I can think of something better than that.” She replied, smiling back.

“Please do. I need something else besides Asher. I think Ace called Asher Basher or some hot garbage like that.” He made a disgusted look. “How about Greg?” He shook his head before she had a time to respond, as Asher immediately thought of Greg Cherry. “You know what? I’ll leave it to you. I’m obviously no good at the pet name department.”

They got in the car and drove toward the city. “How are you feeling?”

“I’m good.”

“You sure? I saw your match.” She added, much to his dismay.

Acting tough, he shrugged. “You can’t win them all. That’s one of the many lessons I’ve learned in this business.” The words slipped from his tongue, and he didn’t buy into them, so he wasn’t sure if she did either. “Cid and I…” He began. “We will bounce back.”

“I have no doubt in my mind.” Kristen replied. He leaned back in the passenger seat. He wanted to sleep some more, which told him he was depressed. He always wanted to sleep when that happened. Or use whatever substance he could get his hands on.

“So, how are things at my house?”

“Well, Jayden and I stayed at your place, keeping an eye on Cody and Damian.”

“Why do I feel like you’re about to tell me something bad?”

She cleared her throat. “So, Jayden and I went to grab groceries, leaving those two alone. I figured they’d be fine by themselves. I was gone for no more than an hour…”

He cut her off. “What happened?”

The car came to a stop at a red light, and they locked eyes. “They decided to throw a small party while I was gone. Some things got broken. But I cleared everyone out and made Cody pick up everything, since Damian couldn’t. You know the injury and all.” She flashed an uneasy grin as the light turned green and Kristen pressed down on the gas.

He said nothing. Just stared forward. She broke the silence. “Are you okay? I know you’re mad.”

Asher shook his head. “Oh, I’m not mad. I may kill those two, but I’m not mad.” He groaned. “Okay, yeah I’m pretty pissed but not at you. Knowing those two, they had that shit planned, just waiting for the perfect opportunity to throw down. I may break Damian’s other leg just for spite.”

“They’re just kids.” Kristen added.

“Yeah, I know. Kids nobody would miss.” He shrugged. “Okay, maybe Damian wouldn’t be missed. I don’t see that as a bad thing.”

They arrived at Asher’s house, putting the car in park, and looking at one another. “Are you coming inside?” He asked. She shook her head no. “Oh, that hurts. We’ve not seen each other in like…a week.”

“I’ve got to get Jayden and hang with him. Just the two of us. And besides, you may be maiming a teenager, so I don’t need to be around for that.” He gave her a sad puppy dog look that, like his humor on Sasha, didn’t have the desired effect. “You better suck that up, dude.” Kristen smirked. “I’ll see you later tonight or something.”

“Maybe I can drop by your place.”

She shrugged. “Maybe. Now get out of my car.” Their lips met before he climbed out. He watched as she left before turning to the front door, a sense of dread running its course through him. He really didn’t want to deal with Cody. He definitely didn’t want to run into Damian. After standing in the driveway, looking like a lost dementia patient, Asher drew in a deep breath before heading inside, exhaling as he entered his house, telling himself it was going to be alright.

When he stepped into the foyer, the aroma that filtered around him, let Asher know that nothing was alright. He stomped through the house, to find Cody and Damian sitting in the living room, total silence. The TV wasn’t on. They sat across from each other. The red in their eyes, and their inability to conceal their smirks told him all he needed to know.

They were high.

“Where is it?” He asked, but they said nothing. “Guys, I’m really not in the mood for this shit. Where is it? I know you’ve been smoking pot. I can smell it. Hell, I smelled as soon I got inside, so tell me where it is.” And still, they said nothing. He wanted to be back on the plane, high above everything and everyone, away from the litany of bullshit he knew he’d be facing once he returned home. It was alive and well, and in his face. He had to face it.

“It’s gone.” His nephew said, trying to keep from laughing. “We smoked it all.” His body jerked, like he was busting at the seams to let it all out.

And then, Damian chimed in. “Are you sure you don’t need any? We watched the show. That was a tough break. The way you got your ass handed to you, man…” He scoffed, cracking a shit eating grin and he and Asher locked eyes. “If I were you, I’d need something to take the edge off.” He started laughing, which didn’t take long to get under Asher’s skin. “Just let me know. I got your hook up. I’m your pusha man.” The fucker said nothing short of condescendingly.

Before he knew it, Asher stomped toward him, and Cody got in between them. “Are you trying to get my nephew on drugs, you little shit?” Cody pressed against his hands against Asher’s chest, trying to hold him back but to no avail. “Huh? Is that what you’re trying to do? You don’t give a shit about anyone, so you want to ruin someone else’s life, because you hate your own?”

Damian threw his hands up. “Hey man, don’t project your shit out on me, bro. We were just having a good time.”

Cody spoke. “Ash, dude…back off. I can’t believe you’re acting like this.” They locked eyes, as his nephew took a step or two back, getting a little closer to Damian. Asher sighed before pointing toward the outside deck. Cody nodded before heading that way, and his uncle followed. Pulling the door closed, they looked at one another again. “What the hell, Uncle Asher? Why are you being such a dick?”

“You can call me whatever you like, but that doesn’t mean I’m wrong.”

“Wrong about what?”

“That fucker got you high. Hell, I’m sure he talked you into throwing a party at my house. Something I have always asked you not to do. Something I’ve never had to worry about until now. Until dipshit came into your life.” He said, pointing over his shoulder at Damian.

Cody looked down and shook his head. “You don’t know what you’re talking about, dude.”

“I don’t?” Asher asked, leaning closer, trying to make eye contact. “I don’t.” Cody continued to avoid him until Asher grabbed him by the chin, making his nephew look at him. “I’ve known you your entire life, kid. I know how cool you are. But the way you’ve been acting lately,” he said, shaking his head and releasing his grip, “Not cool at all.”

“So, it’s cool if you do heroin, but it’s the end of the fucking world if I smoke a little pot? Give me a break, man.”

He exhaled heavily, trying to keep himself from full-on seething. “What have I said to you about doing drugs? Do you remember? I know I do.” Cody rolled his eyes, looking away yet again. “I’ve told you that if you’re going to try something, I’d rather you try it with me. I’ve done all that’s out there. That’s not a good thing. It’s not a compliment, but I know what’s probably okay just as I know what can severely fuck your life up.”

“We smoked pot. Nothing else.”

“Yeah, I get that, but would you have done it had Damian not asked you to? That’s a very important question that I want you to think about, instead of just blurting out whatever.” That statement resonated with Asher, because as soon as he said it, he felt he needed to start practicing what he preached. Cody looked at his uncle and they hold one another’s gaze for quite awhile, before the young man looked down and away once more. “That’s what I thought.”

Cody sighed. “Do you know what its like?” He looked up. Asher shrugged, letting his nephew know he had no clue what he was referring to. “Nobody has ever really taken an interest in me. In me. Its usually about you, because I made the mistake a long time ago, letting everyone know you’re my uncle. Damian is the first person in a long time that actually likes me for me. And so, what if I’m trying something new. I think I’ve earned that right.”

“Look kid…”

“No, please. Let me finish.” He exhaled. “I know my mom watched you nearly kill yourself doing drugs, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to do the same. I can be smart about it.”

“I got started on heroin because I had been blinded by my feelings for someone,” Asher stated, remembering Rachel Foxx’s hold over his life. Something that nearly killed him. “Even after we split, I’d get high just so I could see her. I’d hallucinate but in those moments, she was real.”

“That doesn’t mean I’ll do the same.”

“I wouldn’t let that happen, Cody. I owe it to you and your mother to look after you.”

“I can take care of myself, dude.”

“Yeah, clearly. You’re hanging out with this ass clown. He has no respect for anyone.”

“And you do?”

“Hey.” Asher hissed. “I’m the good guy here, kid. Even if you don’t see it.” Cody scoffed. “What’s so funny?” His nephew shook his head, but he remained adamant. “No, tell me.”

“You actually believe that?”

“Believe what?”

“That you’re the good guy?” The words hit Asher like a bullet, and he went to respond, but he couldn’t. He had been left speechless. He knew that Cody knew it as well. He stood there with his nephew for a few moments, before Cody brushed past him, going back inside. He stood there, looking out at the city below, his mind racing back and forth like the cars he watched barrel down the street, going this way and that. His thoughts were cruising at dangerous speeds, putting everything at risk, because all Asher could do was question. He was the good guy. He was the good guy. He was the good guy. He was the good guy. Right?

The question repeated itself, manifesting in Asher’s brain to the point that he couldn’t shake it. It lingered there for quite some time. It remained even after he found himself on the back porch of Kristen’s house, waiting for her to come sit with him. Once he saw her, it seemed to dissipate but only slightly. He wanted to make the most out of being in her presence. “Jayden finally passed out.” She said, before taking a seat next to him, handing him a bottled Samuel Adams. She had one as well, and they did a little toast in silence. “You look like you could use some rest.”

“Yeah, you’re right about that.” He said, taking a sip of his beer. He knew he really didn’t need to sleep, as he’d slept well in the hotel, as well as the plane. “I know I’m going to be paranoid with Damian and Cody now, so we’ll have to see how that goes. I wonder if I could give Cody up for adoption.”

Kristen bumped her shoulder into his, giving him a soft chuckle. “We both know you don’t want to do that, no matter how big of a pain in the ass he can be.”

“You have no idea.” He replied. “I may not have said it earlier, but thanks for looking after him while I was gone.”

“No problem. I can’t say I did that good of a job, though. Like I said. Some shit got broken over there.”

Asher shook his head. “And I’ve not figured out what that shit is. But then again, I’ve not really looked, either. They were both high as a kite when I got home. Had an argument with Cody that didn’t go as well as I’d hoped.”

“Do they ever go as you hoped?” She asked, snickering as well.

He shook his head once more, laughing a little as well, making him feel better somewhat. “Oh, God no. Never. He’s such a headstrong little shit, just as I’m headstrong, too. It’s just a bad combination all the way around.” He sipped his beer. “But I found them high. I jumped his shit. I told him he wasn’t being who he truly was. That he was only doing shit like throwing a party and getting high because of his boyfriend.”

“Based on what you’ve told me about their relationship, I’m sure that went over well.” Kristen stated, before taking a sip her beer as well. Asher had given her the skinny about Damian and Cody, as he felt he’d need a pair of fresh eyes on the situation. He knew he couldn’t really talk to Adrina or Evelyn because they hated Damian with a fiery passion, and Asher couldn’t really blame them.

“It went over real well,” he said, letting out a heavy sigh, “Cody basically told me that Damian had nothing to do with it, and that I had no right to judge him or say anything based on my own actions.” He looked at her. “Yeah, he likes to bring up my past drug use and all that jazz. If I ever need a nice little reminder, I pay Cody a visit.” And then, the question returned. “I even told him that I was trying to help him. That I was the good guy in the situation.”

“And what did he say to that?”

He scoffed, shrugging his shoulders, gulping the remainder of his beer, “He asked me if I really believed that.”

Kristen leaned forward as he turned, and they locked eyes. “And do you believe it?”

“I did until he asked me that.” He looked straight ahead, staying at the night. “I’ve been questioning it ever since. Even now.”

“Do you think you let people get in your head easily?” She asked.

“I wish I knew.”

“I’ve known you for quite awhile, so I believe its okay for me to be honest with you.”

“Of course.”

“You do let people get in your head. You don’t seem to think for yourself most of the time.”

“How do you mean?” He questioned.

Kristen took another swig of her beer, looking like she was trying to mentally prepare herself for what she was about to say. That made Asher slightly uneasy. He’d been getting hit with truth bombs quite a bit recently, and he wasn’t sure if he could handle much more. “Like we were hot and heavy for awhile, and you told me you met up with someone, and you felt you didn’t need to be in a relationship, after speaking with them.”

He nodded, “Yeah, that. I remember. Look I was a shit…”

She cut him off. “Oh, there’s more.” He nodded once again, giving her the floor once more. “Look at your friendship with that Ace guy. Him getting more attention, as you put it, got into your head. That Gavin guy got in your head and under your skin. When I’ve talked to you during those periods of your life, you seemed like you were just ready to unravel. Like you really didn’t know who you were, or where to go.”

He wanted to break down and tell her that he felt that way right then and there. That he felt like there had been a light at the end of the tunnel when Cid returned, but that light had been blackened out at Rise to Greatness. He scoffed, thinking about how he told Cid he needed to see a therapist, when it seemed to be the best idea for himself. He hadn’t been in a couple of months, and knew he had no intention of returning. “I can see your point,” he said, knowing that he was clearly deflecting everything to keep up his bravado.

“Is that all you’re going to say?” She asked.

“I’m not sure what else I can say. I see your point. I can see truth in what you’ve said. Now, it’s up to me what I do with that information.”

“And what are you going to do?”

“Can I get back to you on that?” He asked, giving a grin.

“You need to be serious, Asher.” She stated, echoing Sasha’s sentiments. “I know you can be.”

“Being serious is boring.” He replied. “I thought you liked me, not only for my good looks and amazing skills in the sack, but because of my sense of humor.”

“I do like your sense of humor. I love how you’re able to make me laugh. But you don’t have to do that all the time. I’m not that kind of woman.”

“I can appreciate that. Just as I appreciate your honesty. I’m just the type of guy who keeps whatever’s going on, bottled up inside. And I don’t know how to express it or anything like that. I just roll with it, figuring it’ll all work itself out in the end.”

“Reminds me of someone else we both know.”

He groaned. “Oh, please don’t compare me to Josh. That cuts me deep.”

“It should.” She said as he sighed, and she continued. “He always bottled shit up and look where that got him. He is a miserable son of a bitch from what I remember. Knowing you like I do; I don’t think you want to be miserable.”

“I lived with misery for a very long time. I’d rather not go back down the path of heroin and needles. I’d rather stay right here, where I’m at.” He replied, looking at her and smiling. Being around her made him feel good. He knew a lot of people he worked with that couldn’t stand being around those they were in relationships with. He didn’t want to be like them. He knew that thought had multiple meanings, which prompted the question of who he was.

“So,” he began, “Do you think I’m a good guy?”

“I hope so.” She said, and they kissed, before she let him hold her as they stared out into the night. When she passed out in his arms, Asher carried her to her bed, and tucked her in after removing her shoes. He kissed her forehead and whispered goodbye to Jayden before he left.

“Who are you, Asher Hayes?” He asked as he drove through the Windy City. He hated questioning himself and who he was. It annoyed him, as it reminded Asher of his time with Rachel. He was exactly the way Kristen had described, wondering who he was and where he was going.

He tried to shake it all from his mind as he eased into the driveway. He wanted to go to bed but figured Damian and Cody had done something else that was more than likely going to piss him off. He got out of the call, trying to prepare himself some new brand of fresh Hell, when his cell went off. He fumbled through his pockets before he managed to pull it out. It was his mother, which filled Asher with a sense of dread, far worse than anything his nephew or Cody’s boyfriend could instill in him. He rarely talked to his mother, but when he did, she was always the bearer of bad news.

After a few moments of hesitation, he finally answered. “Hey, Mom. What’s happening? Are you drinking again, because I’m surprised, you’re up at this hour.” He joked, but as seemed to be the case with everyone recently, his attempt at humor proved futile.

He could tell she was crying. He leaned against the hood the car, bracing himself for what he figured to be an hours long talk about something. “Mom, are you okay? Tell me what’s wrong.”

After a few moments she finally caught her breath, composing herself. He pictured her in the house Asher had grown up in, all quiet then and dark, trying to keep it together over whatever sad thing she was preparing to drop on him. “Mom,” he said, as calm as possible, hoping his voice would give her some sense of ease.

“Hey, honey. How are you?”

He thought about everything he’d been through recently, and did what he told Kristen he did which was bottle it up. “I’m okay. I should be asking you that same exact question.”

“I’ve been better.” She said, giving a gentle laugh, as if she was trying to mask whatever pain she was experiencing.

“I can tell that. Why don’t you tell me what’s wrong? I mean, do I need to come over and mess someone up for you? You know that I will. You just say the word.”

“No, Asher. It’s nothing like that, but I am afraid I have some bad news.” He held his breath, wondering what she was going to say. When she replied, her words told Asher that whatever was going on him, his internal struggle would have to be put on the back burner. That he’d have to figure out the answer to who the hell he was at a later date. “It’s your uncle Bruce.”

“What’s wrong with Uncle Bruce?” He asked, knowing the answer even though he didn’t want to believe it.

“He’s dead, son. He passed away just a few hours ago. I wanted to be the one to tell you because I knew the two of you were always close.” Asher brought the phone from ear, not paying attention to whether or not his mother was still speaking, as fuck was all he could think at that moment.

__________________________________________________

SHOOT

Rise to Greatness, what a trip right?

A/C Unit was in the house. The people were going crazy, as we stood up to Dark Fantasy, but in the end, we were beaten. I ate the pin. Not happy with the result. And who would be? But hey, as you can see, Cid Turner isn’t going to let it stop him. And the same could be said for yours truly.

So, please Syren…Rayvn…ladies, have a few drinks on us. Enjoy your victory. You earned it. So yeah, enjoy it. While it lasts. You can put us in your rearview, but don’t think for a second that we won’t be working toward another showdown. You don’t get to use and abuse me for like a month and think that it’s over when you say its over.

You can come out and talk about how you’re owed a World title shot, and respect, and all this jazz, singing that same old song, twerking to that same old dance, and don’t be shocked to find me coming out to kick your ass. Or based on Rise to Greatness results, doing my damnedest to kick your ass, Syren. I still think you need to go away. No amount of shots to the head are going to change that. Besides, you’ve pissed me off further. You deprived the great Cid Turner of victory on the biggest stage, and that just doesn’t settle well with me.

Vengeance shall be had! So, check your reflections in the mirror, and then look over your shoulder. I’ll be there, smirking like a creeper only to grab you and drop you with the Ashes to Ashes, or a lamp, depending on what I manage to hit first.

But alas. That was then and could be the future. Let’s focus on the present, which is going to see the Unit that is A/C facing none other than the testicles of the Wonderland. Gio is the shaft, while Alice and Cain are the carry-on baggage that comes with the package deal. Gio is the one getting all the attention, while Alice and Cain are left doing the grunt work, taking the brunt of the abuse, while Gio just stands above the rest, draining the life blood out of anyone and everyone he comes in contact with. Gio is the infectious disease that Alice and Cain have the burden of carrying.

You see guys, you do the bidding of a complete nut job. I’m sure you’ve heard that before, and I’m sure like good little disciples, you will preach the same message as your fur coat wearing Jesus Christ. You will tell Cid and I we were fools for this, just as we are fools for that. It will all be Gio’s words coming out of your mouth. Or hell, better yet, I’m sure Gio will do what he always does, which is speak for you, stripping you both of your identities.

For a man who preaches about having freedom and being free to do this or that, to be whoever it is you want to be, Gio commands you like a farmer herding sheep. You just stand there until he says go, jump, roll. And you do it, because you believe in his message.

But I have to ask, what is the message of the Wonderland, really? People want to win championships in this business. They want the spotlight. They want to be considered the best. Your boss ridicules all that, but I think it’s a message filled to the brim with grade A bullshit. There’s nothing wrong with having wants and desires or establishing goals for yourself and pursuing them. Hell, I have no doubt Gio will talk about Cid and I coming back for one last hurrah, because we just can’t stay away, that we’re greedy and all that nonsense.

He can call it greed, and you two can bite down on that hook, line, and sinker. But I call it determination. I call it not selling oneself short.

You two can do that. Be my guest, but don’t expect the same of me or Cid.

I mean, for real. Look at you, Alice. You can be deadly in the ring. You have a good look. Sex sells as they say. But you can get it done in the ring. I have a feeling if you were to break away and do your own thing, you and Cain could win some tag team gold. Hell, you could make a run at the TV title, and work your way up on your own. But that would take some balls to break away from Gio, and from the looks of it, you’re not about that life.

The same could be said about you, Cain. You’re a monster among men. Well, you could be at least. You’re menacing. Cold and calculating. Hell, Gio should let you wrestle for him. You could do some damage when it comes to physicality. Hell, I have no doubt that you’re going to throw Cid and I around like rag dolls if, and/or when, you get your hands on either of us. You could tear through this damn roster like nobody’s business, turning into the second coming of Blitzkrieg, or even better, making whatever Blitz did look like child’s play.

But like Alice, you won’t do it. For someone so menacing, when you peel back the layers, you’re a scared child. Gio talks for you. He orders you around, while he sits back and laughs like a jackal who has hit the bong one too many times. You could be your own person, but you choose to follow him blindly, fighting against lizards that aren’t there. He talks about people needing their eyes opened, yet he keeps pressing down on the wool shielding your pupils from the truth.

But I’ll make you hear some truth. This message isn’t filled with riddles and metaphors. This is message is blunt and to the point. It’s real, and I’ll say it louder if need be, because I want you to hear me. At Breakdown, your leader will leave you to fight us. Cid and I…we will stomp on the fire raging through the Wonderland after that loss at Rise to Greatness. Both sides want to achieve victory, but in the end, you two will…and Gio can watch from a distance…but in the end, you two will be left with nothing.

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust…

 

Leave a comment