Ashes to Ashes, Ch. 1

Ashes to Ashes, Chapter One

Retribution 2020

Asher Hayes had been able to deal with, and overcome, many things in his life. Heroin addiction. Loss of his father, not to mention losing his sister as well as his ex-baby mama in a car accident. Trying to raise his nephew Cody on his own, while also learning to come to grips with the kid’s newfound homosexuality. Asher was able to handle all that in stride, trying his best to not let anything get him down, because he knew he had it in him to survive and overcome.

There was one thing he struggled with, more than anything else, and it seemed petty even to him, but it was still there. The one thing he struggled above all else, was losing a wrestling match. He was a professional wrestler. He’d been one for well over a decade. It was the only thing he felt he was ever good at in terms of a chosen career. He had gone through the independent circuit, landed a job with the big time, with the biggest wrestling promotion on a global scale, before losing it all to the previously mentioned heroin addiction.

He scratched and clawed his way back, more than once, to reach the big time once again. Now that he was back, losing bothered him a lot more than he would have liked. On this night, he was coming off a tough loss. He had entered said match as champion, only to lose it. Sure, he hadn’t been pinned, and it paved the way for a potential one on one match with the new champ, but the sting of the loss still lingered.

The only saving grace, Asher felt, was her.

Her name was Kristen Rae. They had started talking via the Twitter verse, as she had been linked to another wrestler some time prior to taking a break from social media. Those conversations led to face to face interactions, which led to meetings of the body between the sheets, or on the couch. Whichever came first.

And then she wanted to get serious. Asher became reluctant. He was a glorified man whore while on the road with his job, knocking boots which any and all comers of the female perspective. He went to a meeting for sex addicts, thinking it’d help, but all it did, was lead him to belly slapping with a fiery redhead named Lucy.

Kristen had gone with him to the show which had been live on Pay Per View, as he had asked her weeks prior to go with him. This was while they were discussing the subject of being together. He figured she agreed to still go with him, because she was clinging to the hope of a happy ending, and not in the sexual way.

Asher enjoyed her company. He always had. He also knew how he was. But on this night, he was more than glad she was around.

“You okay?” She asked, as he rested his head against the cool metal of the lockers behind him.

He groaned. “Oh yeah. I’m glad she won. Better than the other twat in the match.” Asher leaned forward, wincing slightly. He had taken a few shots to his lower back, which had been a cause of problems for quite some time. The heroin helped in the past, but that was a road he didn’t want to travel down ever again. “It sucks that I lost, but it wasn’t me who took the pin at least. I guess that’s as good a sign as any.”

“A sign for what exactly?” Kristen asked, brushing her light brown hair from her face. Everything about her was perfect. Everything was the right size and shape. Her skin reminded Asher of caramel. The taste of her lips was just as sweet. She was quite the catch, which was another reason he didn’t want to let go of her completely, as vain as it sounded.

“Oh, I don’t know. That’s just me. Rambling with no real rhyme or reason.” He replied, adding in a sigh for good measure, as he ran his fingers through his golden locks. “I’m only hoping tonight wasn’t a setback for me.”

“What do you mean?” She made her way over to him, taking a seat at his right. He could see a yearning in her eyes. It matched his, except he was trying his best to hide it. “You’ve lost a few times since we’ve met, and you’ve always managed to bounce back.”

Shrugging his shoulders, Asher shook his head, knowing she was right. He just couldn’t shake the feeling of slight uncertainty. “I’ve had a pretty decent return. I can give myself credit for that much. But,” Another sighed followed. “I feel like I’m waiting for that one big break. That one match or performance to really take me where I want to go.”

“Where is it you want to go?”

They locked eyes once again. Her yearning was still there, bringing his to the surface. “To the next level. To the main event.” He replied, looking ahead before he gave himself away.

He heard her chuckle, glancing at her out of the corner of his eye, seeing her head shaking from side to side. “I’m sure you’ll get there. Its funny that you’re down and out about this. You were up high on your pedestal not too long ago. And now, you’re all doom and gloom. I think I may be glad you decided to break things off.” She shot him a grin.

“I’d say that cuts me deep.” He replied with a grin of his own. “But I’m sure you’d say something along the lines of I deserve it.”

“You said it, not me.” Kristen fired back with a shrug.

They stared into one another’s eyes. The yearning became too much to ignore. Asher wanted to kiss her and see what would happen next. It felt like they were in a romantic comedy directed by John Hughes. Asher felt like he may have heard some sort of cheesy music ringing in the back of his ears, as they drifted closer and closer.

But the locker room door opened.

It was his enemy turned friend, Ace Marshall. “Hey, are you being a bitch about losing?”

Asher rolled his eyes, trying to hide the fact he was happy Ace had arrived. He wanted to kiss Kristen, but also knew she’d end up hurt even more since he wasn’t ready to settle down. “I am sulking my dude.” He said. “I was getting ready to kick on some My Chemical Romance. Want to join, and make it a real party?” Asher gave a thumbs up, doing his best to really sell the idea.

“Why are we friends?” Ace asked, scrunching his face like he had taken in a whiff of a bad fart. Once that passed, he continued speaking. “If you want to come to a real party, I know a great place we can go grab some beers in order to celebrate my victory tonight.”

“Shit.” Asher stated. “You won?”

Ace grinned. “Yeah. I don’t know if you know this or not, but ummm…I’m the best in the world.”

“I can’t wait to hear about that all night.” Asher replied. “I’ll come find you when we get ready to leave.” Ace nodded before stepping back out of the room. Asher and Kristen locked eyes once again, as he spoke. “I’m sorry about that.”

She let out a deep breath, nodding. “Yeah, yeah. It’s all good.” She rose to her feet. “Well, you have a good night.”

“What do you mean? You’re not coming with?”

She shook her head. “No. I think I’m going to go to the hotel room. You go have fun, though.” Asher started to present an argument, but Kristen had turned away. They locked eyes once more as she reached the door. “I’m sorry you lost, but I’m sure you’ll land on your feet.”

“Thanks.” He stated, not really knowing what to say.

“I’ll see you in the morning.” And with that she was gone. Once the door closed, Asher buried his face in his hands, before lifting his head and letting out a heavy sigh.

“You brought this upon yourself, big boy.” He said as he rose to his feet, before grabbing a quick shower. Once he was toweled off, he slid into a pair of jeans and a flannel, when he heard a voice. It didn’t belong to Ace or Kristen. It belonged to a ghost from his past.

“When are you going to settle down, Asher?” He turned to find Audrey staring at him, as she leaned against the wall. Audrey had been his ex-girlfriend. She had been with child when she died.

He took a few moments to gather his composure before giving a response. He had been haunted by her death for longer than he could really remember. He felt guilt, even though he knew he shouldn’t. He managed to move on in more ways than one, but her ghost would appear here and there. He knew it was because she’d always be a part of him. “I wish I knew. You were the first to get me ever so close to doing so.”

She nodded, giving a faint smile. Her skin porcelain. Her hair jet black. Her eyes green. He loved her eyes. They were unlike anything he had ever seen before. They reminded him of Kristen’s. Like there would always be a story to tell in her eyes. “And yet you chose the needle over me.”

He sighed. “I did, but I also knew I needed to get away from you. Not for my sake, but for yours. You needed, and deserved, way better than me.” Asher said, as he slid his feet into boots. “Hell, Kristen is the same way. Being with me would probably end up in ruin for her.”

“You don’t know that for sure.”

“Yes, I do.” Asher hissed as they locked eyes.

“You’re a good person, Asher. Underneath it all. You are. Even if you don’t want to believe it.” Audrey said, as she pushed away from the wall.

“You know…” He began, as he stood up. “I get that a lot.”

She shrugged and shook her head. “Okay. Then what’s the problem?”

He scoffed, as he reached down and grabbed his back. “Me.” He pressed a finger into his chest. “I’m the problem.”

“You know you can get out of your own way, right?”

“Is that so?” He asked, as his hand gripped the doorknob.

He glanced at her over his shoulder, as she nodded. “Yes. You just have to do one simple thing. Well…” She shrugged, before giving a sly smirk. “It probably wouldn’t be so simple for you. If we’re being honest.”

“Oh.” He turned to face her completely. “And what might that be?”

“Removing your head from your ass.” She fired back.

Asher went to reply, but there was a knock at the door. He looked at the door then back to her, but Audrey was gone. He took a few moments to compose himself, before opening the door to find Ace standing there. “Dude, what the hell? I’ve been waiting for like ten minutes. We should have been balls deep in some brew by now.”

“Just because I dipped my balls in a drink ten years ago, doesn’t mean I’m willing to do it again.”

“That’s just gross.” Ace said. “But I’m intrigued all the same.” He added. Asher stepped into the hallway. “Where’s your lady friend?”

“She took off.”

“Her top?”

“No.” Asher replied, as they locked eyes. He felt overprotective of Kristen but smirked in an effort to hide it.

“So, were you in there talking to yourself?” Asher said nothing. Ace continued, rolling his eyes. “Fuck, dude. I don’t need another crazy person talking to themselves, or hearing voices. I’ve had enough of that shit in my life. Hell, its half the roster. Enough already.”

Asher maintained his smirk. “I was practicing my shit talk after I drink you under the table tonight.”

“We can go with that. It doesn’t mean I’m not slightly concerned.” Ace said.

“Well, we can drink away your slight concern. Let’s get the hell out of here. After you, Best in the World.”

“Glad you’ve not forgotten.”

“I’m sure you wouldn’t let me if I tried.”

______________________________________

Chicago, Illinois

A Few Days Later

As she sat at her desk, Annika Gershon couldn’t help but lose track of time. What kept her attention was the information that appeared across her computer screen. Information she never thought she’d find. Now that she found it, she wasn’t sure how to react. All she could do was breathe slowly, and swallow the fear trying to inch its way through her body.

She never thought she’d have a job quite like the one she currently occupied. She worked for the Chicago branch of the Environmental Protection Agency. With her jet-black hair, porcelain skin, fit body, she looked like she belonged on TV, but like her father, Annika wanted to get into architecture. Something about the way buildings were designed, brought her a sense of calm and purpose. That was what she had gone to the University of Chicago for. She had excelled tremendously. Her father pushed her to become the boss, instead of the brick mason.

That was what he was for quite some time, before taking a cushy job with the EPA. The hours may have been long, but his body didn’t break down like it had done for the majority of Annika’s young life. She was twenty-five years old, and she wanted to follow her dreams. To make her father’s dreams her reality. That was what he wanted.

But the path they were on led to another road. It wasn’t just merely branching off the path. They were thrown into a full-on collision course with a harsh reality. The harsh reality was staring her right in the face, and she stared right back, as she contemplated her next move.

“You sure you want to do this, kiddo?” The voice pulled her eyes from the screen. She turned and saw her father standing just a few feet away from her. He wore his traditional blue and red flannel shirt, with jeans, and a pair of boots. His face was covered in his signature beard, gruff and full of wildlife.

A deep breath escaped her. “I’m not…” She paused, taking her eyes from his as she returned them to the screen, her eyes scanning the documents before her. “I’m not…” She paused once more, returning her gaze to meet his. “I’m not sure. I feel like I have to, now. Especially with what I’m seeing.”

“Do you think it’s the right decision?” He asked.

She shrugged. “I’m not sure about that. I feel like it’d be the right one.” Annika shook her head, glancing at the documents once again. “What do you think?”

She listened as her father scoffed. The sound warmed her soul a little bit. Just as the grin that appeared across his face did. “It doesn’t matter what I think. It is your decision at the end of the day. You just need to think about what could happen if you go down the path, you’re thinking of taking.”

“What could happen?” She asked.

His grin faded. “The consequences.” Her eyes followed his as they darted toward her computer screen, before meeting once more. “This could lead you into a lot of trouble. I’m not sure if you’re prepared for something like that. And you know that I’m not going to be around to protect you.”

His words echoed in her mind, as she glanced down, another breath escaping her, carrying more weight than before. She knew he was right. That reason was why Annika had decided to apply for a temporary job, working in the records section of the EPA. It was why she decided to not take a job with one of the best firms in Chicago.

Her father died, and she felt the job he’d taken was the cause.

“I wish I knew what you’d do, Dad. I know if you were here, you’d pour us some coffee and we’d talk about it at the kitchen table. Just as you and Mom would do.” She stated, talking to nothing but ghosts, as she remembered her mother. She had left them when Annika was a senior in high school.

She took another look at the documents, letting out a heavy sigh before placing her flash drive into her computer. She took another deep breath before prompting the documents to download to the device. She watched, feverishly. Just waiting for something to go wrong. She decided to call a close friend to potentially ease her mind.

It only rang once before she heard his voice. “Hey. Did you do it?”

She felt a tiny grin form. “Yes, Caleb. I’m doing it right now.”

“I feel like we should have code names or something.” The young African American male stated. They had met during their time at the University. He had gone into journalism. He actually stuck with it, becoming a reporter with the Chicago Tribune.

“I’ll try to remember that next time.” She said. “But I got it.”

He sighed. “Is it what you expected?”

Closing her eyes, squeezing the phone tightly in her fingers, as she nodded. “Yes. And so much more. I can’t believe what I saw.”

“I’m sure.” He replied. “But it’d probably be best that you get the hell out of there. We can meet up, or something.”

She nodded once more. “Yeah, you’re probably right. I’ll finish up here and let you know when I’m heading your way.”

“Sounds good. Just hurry up and be safe.” There was a pause. “And Annika?”

“Yes?”

“You’re doing the right thing.”

“I hope you’re right.” She replied, before ending the call. The files finished downloading. She paused again, her brain beginning to scream at her, causing her to ask if she had done the right thing. She repeated Caleb’s words to herself, before reaching up and snatching the flash drive. She turned her computer off, grabbed her things, and walked as fast as she could to get out of the office, without drawing any sort of real attention to herself. She figured it wouldn’t be long before that attention would be on her no matter what.

“You did the right thing. You did the right thing.” Annika stated, as she stepped outside, the darkness covering the Windy City, welcoming her. She knew it was only going to get darker, and she hoped she was prepared.

– – – – – – – – – –

He was pissed. No, pissed didn’t even begin to describe how Randal Stark felt. He had some random whore at his place, fucking her with all he had. She seemed to be experiencing a mixture of pain and pleasure. Her pain gave him even more pleasure, and he was just about there when his phone went off. He knew he had to answer it.

“Yeah.” He answered, in between gasping for air, trying to catch up with the speed of his heart. “Stark.”

“We need you to come in.” The voice on the other end said.

“Can’t it wait?” He growled. “Its almost fucking midnight. I have company over.”

There was no answer. Only a click as the call ended. He was a fixer, someone who stayed in the shadows even when called upon. If you wanted a mess to cleaned up, or fixed, Randal Stark was the guy to get the job done. He could do it quickly and quietly.

He had tossed the phone to the floor and glanced at the moving body behind him. She smiled at him. He didn’t return the favor. “Get out.”

Her smile faded. “What?”

He sighed. “Get out.”

“What the hell happened?”

Stark rose to his feet, feeling himself glare. “I’m not going to repeat myself, so I suggest you listen to what I said the first time because I know you heard me. Playing stupid is only going to get you hurt.” He hissed, feeling his fingers clenching into fists.

He had always been a violent person. It came with the territory. He was like many people who had anger issues. His father was a drunk piece of abusive shit. That was where he picked up the habit. Not to mention the fact Stark, along with his younger brother, had been molested by their local priest while growing up. He experienced fright at first, but as time went on, that fright turned into anger, which festered into a boiling rage.

He watched as she scrambled from the bed, grabbing her clothes and walking out of the room. He wasn’t sure why, but he had always seen the female gender to be weak. Like they were nothing more than little drones in need of control. He wasn’t interested in relationships. They were dumpsters for his sperm and nothing more. A good fuck here and there, then they needed to hit the road. That was what he did once she was gone.

His contact was of the government type. Stark had no issue to work for him. He just hated being called out during the middle of something. Something that provided him with pleasure. He would be able to use his rage for something good, so that calmed him.

He brought his SUV to a stop in the empty parking lot, before climbing out and getting the vehicle next to his. It belonged to his contact. Gregory Bana. Or Director Bana to those beneath him. “Evening. Sorry to interrupt.” Bana said, his voice hollow like his eyes. “I hope it wasn’t something important.”

Stark smirked as they locked eyes. “Not that it matters.”

“This is what I pay you for.”

“And I appreciate it.” The fixer stated, clearing his throat, maintaining eye contact with Bana. “So, who am I looking for?”

“You just automatically assume it’s someone, and not something?” The director said, brushing his charcoal hair out of his eyes.

“In my line of work…” Stark began. “It’s always someone, about something. Not just a thing.”

Bana cleared his throat. “Well, we have a problem.” He said, lifting a manila envelope.

Taking the envelope and opening it, Stark replied. “What’s the problem?” He pulled out a few photos. It was a woman. She was something special to look at it, he thought.

“Let’s just say information we didn’t want to get out, has been found, and could get out.”

Stark nodded. “I see. And what would you like me to do about this situation?”

Bana scoffed. “I think you know.”

He nodded once more. “I will do some digging. Figure out her schedule. That sort of thing.” They locked eyes again. “I’m assuming you don’t want to go to the cops or get one of your Special Agents on this shit?”

The director shook his head. “No. That would be more of a last resort, but due to the history you and I share, something tells me that I won’t have to worry about that.”

“Not at all.” Stark said with a grin.

“Call me with updates.” Bana said, and the fixer gave a nod before climbing out of the vehicle and getting back into his own. The Director left, leaving Stark in his car alone. He looked at the photograph of the person Bana wanted to find. Her name was Annika Gershon. He found it ballsy that the little shit did something like take from a man of Bana’s status. That brought a smile to the man’s face. A smile that quickly faded as Stark reminded himself that women were weak.

“You decided to stand up and step out of line.” He said. “You need to be taught a lesson.” He stated, making sure the picture was burned into his brain, before he crumpled it into a ball as he clenched it in a fist. “You need to be reminded that you’re weak, and this world isn’t yours for the taking.” He let the crumpled ball fall to the floorboard, before he started the SUV up, and made his way out of the parking lot, driving off into the night. It was time to hunt, and Randal Stark loved the hunt.

______________________________________

Chicago, Illinois

The Next Night

“So, wait.” Asher remembered how Ace began to respond. “You guys basically go out. Look for potential one-night stands, and challenge the other to fuck that person?” He chugged a beer as Asher simply nodded. Bringing the mug from his lips, Ace laughed. “What the fuck?”

Asher remembered shrugging. “Yeah, man. That’s basically the gist. Its…” He shrugged again, trying to make sense of it all in his own head. “It’s something.”

Ace poured more beer into his mug from what Asher believed to be the third pitcher they had ordered a few nights prior. “I can’t say much. I used to play games with Infamous when we were friends and shit.”

“How’d that go?”

Ace smirked. “A lady never tells.”

“So classy.” Asher replied, finishing off a beer himself before pouring another. “You probably have to be since you’re the Best in the World.”

“Oh, there’s nothing elegant about me except my eyes.” Ace said. “Glory can have all that other shit. It doesn’t suit me.”

“Who wouldn’t want to be used and abused by Sienna?”

“The way you basically wave your dick around on Twitter, I figured you would.”

Asher nodded. “I can’t lie. She’s got legs, and an ass. Its not as big of an ass as I’d prefer, but it’s there. There is potential. She just needs to eat more.”

“What about that chick in your locker room earlier? Is she one of the…how did you put it…um, fuck club members?” Ace chuckled.

Asher shook his head. “No, definitely not.”

“She’s a looker. Wait. Was she a challenge?”

“No.” Asher stated, his response rather stern.

“Okay, my blunder. You must be on the rag. Or you’re sad you lost the Adrenaline title.” Ace ribbed. Asher was irked about the loss still but chose to ignore it.

What he couldn’t ignore was the fact he was back in Chicago, at a bar, sharing a table with Lucy. A few of the other members were scattered throughout. “Are you alright?” The redhead asked.

He nodded, taking a sip from his bottled beer. “Yeah, I’m good. A little tired.”

She rolled her eyes. “Are you trying to fuck up my buzz?”

“Most certainly not.” He took another sip. “In fact, I’m trying to catch one myself. I want this evening to be fun.”

“Why wouldn’t it be?”

He shrugged. “I need some fun.” He said, his mind thinking about the recent losses he had garnered in SCW. “So, who is up tonight?”

“You are.” Lucy said, rather quickly.

“Are you sure? I feel like it’s my turn to throw out a challenge.”

She shook her head. “No fucking way.” She downed her beer. “You challenged me a few weeks ago. You remember?” Asher shook his head in response, as Lucy continued. “He was overweight, and he collapsed in the bathroom stall of the last bar we went to.”

Asher quickly remembered and laughed. “Oh, that’s right. You said it felt like fucking a dead guy.”

“I’m pretty sure he was limp the entire time.”

“That pussy isn’t as magical as you’ve claimed.” Asher stated.

Lucy rolled her eyes again. “Oh, please. It’s gotten you off more than once. And what I did to you…” She said getting up from her seat. “I did out of sympathy.”

“Ouch.” He said, placing a hand over his heart mockingly. “That cuts me deep.”

She blew him a kiss. “Oh, don’t worry. I won’t do anything out of sympathy tonight. I owe you one. Hell, more than one. So, I’m going to get another beer, and while I’m gone, I will be on the lookout for your challenge.” She grinned. “Don’t get anywhere.” And like that, she was gone, disappearing into the crowd.

He waited, wondering what sort of fresh Hell she had in store for him. It wasn’t long before Lucy returned, and she was all smiles. He knew to prepare himself for the worst. “I don’t like that look. It tells me that I should say fuck my life and waltz into oncoming traffic.”

“I don’t think you’d want to do that.” She said, reclaiming her seat. “I’ve picked out the perfect challenge for you. And since I’m a nice bitch, I found you an easy target.” She motioned toward the right of the bar with her eyes. He looked, and Asher saw someone sitting at the end, with a gray hoodie on. The hood covered the face, so he wasn’t sure who, or what, he was looking at. “Seems pretty simple, don’t cha think?”

He took a swig of beer, looking at Lucy then back at the gray hoodie, before the redhead once again. “I’m not sure I can really comment on that. I can’t tell what it even is. You could be sending me over to talk to a cripple or something. That wouldn’t be fun.”

“Don’t knock it until you try it.” She fired back.

“You’re sick.”

“And you’re stalling.” Lucy teased. She motioned toward the bar once again. “Now, stop being a bitch and go get you some, boy!” She said, exhaling a big “wooo” sound. Asher sighed, knowing he had been challenged. There was no backing out. He finished off his beer, then grabbed Lucy’s and finished it as well, before blowing her a kiss of his own.

Asher turned, and slowly began to make his way toward the bar. As he edged closer, he could see that the person in the hoodie was indeed a girl, so that gave him a certain sense of relief. He got a little closer, and caught a glimpse at the left side of her face, which caused that relief to die quicker than lady boners for Chris Cannon, upon discovery of how utterly useless he is.

He wanted to turn away and avoid the situation altogether, but he found himself sitting beside her, and they locked eyes, briefly. “Um. Hi.”

– – – – – – – – – –

She had thought it was going to be a quiet evening, alone in her apartment. That turned out to be the furthest thing from the truth for Annika Gershon.

The night before she met with Caleb at a coffee shop. It was their favorite spot during college. They’d go there as friends, or even on double dates. Her with her boyfriend, and him with his girlfriend. There was always a chemistry between them, but they never made a move to take things to a different level.

He looked handsome sitting at their regular table, in his dark blue button-up, black framed glasses, and gray slacks. His clothes fit nicely, showing off his superb muscle definition. Annika remembered having to force herself not to check him out when they’d go on those double dates.

“Are you alright?” He had asked, as she took a seat, letting out a deep breath.

She had nodded. “I think so. I just can’t get over this feeling that I’m being followed. Like I’m one of the characters in those stupid spy movies you like.”

He cracked a grin. “Hey, don’t judge me for my taste in movies. If anyone should be judged in that department, it’s you.” Caleb shared a laugh with her. It was something she needed. “But I don’t think you were followed. And if you were, I got your back.” He said, flexing his muscles. She couldn’t help but take notice of them, before laughing once more to place her attention on something else.

“I appreciate that. You having my back, not your disrespect toward my taste in movies.” She said, before a waitress arrived, both ordering coffees. Silence fell over them for a few moments after that. She exhaled, knowing she had to rid herself of whatever was on her mind. “What are you going to do with this?” She asked, tapping the side of her purse with her fingertips.

The waitress returned with their orders. He said nothing until she was nothing, adding to Annika’s seemingly growing paranoia. “I’m going to review it and take it to my boss. See if we can run with it. If not, I will make sure it gets in the proper hands. I want to make sure this doesn’t get brushed under the rug.”

His words had brought her some comfort. The rest of the night they spent talking about their time in college. Good times. He even spent the night at her apartment, sleeping on the couch like a perfect gentleman. He had made breakfast, leaving her a goodbye note.

She spent the next day indoors, mostly. She eventually went out into the Windy City to get a few things for her place. Groceries, and a few movies to add to her Blu-Ray collection. She felt everything was going to be okay, until there was a knock at her door. That was when everything changed.

What happened next left her head ringing, as well as her eye swelling, and her bottom lip busted. She managed to get back out into the city, as darkness had consumed it once again. She tasted blood, as she stumbled through the night, unsure of what to do or where to go. All Annika knew was that she had to get away, to create distance between them.

She pressed her head against the outside wall of a bar. It thumped just like the inside of the establishment did. The inside was of music. Her head rang with pain. Taking a deep breath and an even heavier exhale, Annika stepped inside, going to the bathroom immediately. The women’s room had an out of order sign in front of it, so she stepped into the men’s room. It was empty, thankfully. She splashed her face, wiping away any dried blood. She brushed her hair over her swollen eye, before stepping back out and taking a seat at the bar.

There were no seats except for one at the end, so she pulled her hood over her head, ordering a double vodka. She hoped she wouldn’t be seen.

An attractive redhead bumped into her. They locked eyes for a moment, Annika received a smile, and then she was alone again.

That didn’t last long, as she heard a man’s voice. “Um. Hi.”

She looked at him. He seemed kind. A little cocky. Someone she could have a fling with if she was into having fun. He didn’t seem dangerous in the least. The person entering the bar however, looked the complete opposite, which prompted Annika to push away from the bar, disappearing into the crowd, before making her way back into the men’s room, telling herself the man after her, wouldn’t come into the room. It was the men’s room. It’d be the last place, she’d go right?

That was what she hoped he’d think at least.

She told herself she needed to get out of the bathroom, eventually. Out of the bar. She told herself she needed to call Caleb. Hell, Annika told herself. Call the police. She pulled out her cell but stopped herself. They were law enforcement. Her former employer would say she stole from them, and it would somehow be turned around on her. She grinded her teeth in anger and sadness.

She went to call Caleb. She knew he’d be able to help her, but something stopped her once again. The bathroom door opened, and Annika froze. Her head started to throb even more. Her balance started to alter. She wasn’t sure if it was the pain, the fear, or a combination of the two.

She didn’t know what to expect, but then she heard the voice. “Are you okay?” It was the guy from the bar. She took a deep breath, trying to ignore the pain as she reached for the stall door, but everything became blurry as the bathroom floor rushed toward her face.

– – – – – – – – – –

Asher watched in disbelief as she bolted from the bar. She looked scared shitless, and he quickly felt torn. One part of him wanted to leave it be, and accept he failed at his challenge. The other part of him wanted to find out why she looked that way. He looked behind him, near the bar entrance, and he laid eyes on a brutish looking bastard, who appeared chiseled out of marble, and something told Asher that was the reason behind her scared shitless expression. He turned in the direction she took off to, catching a quick glimpse of her walking into the men’s room.

Asher shook his head. “Don’t do it, man. Don’t do it.” He sighed and nodded. “I’m doing it.” He stood up from his seat at the bar, keeping his eyes on the brute, who was looking around. He looked like he was on the hunt, so Asher returned to the table with Lucy. “Hey.”

“That didn’t seem to go anywhere.” She said, hitting him with a smug laugh. “I guess that cock isn’t as magical as you’ve always thought it’d be.”

“Yeah, yeah. Maybe not, but we’ve got an issue.” He said, growing quite as the hunter walked by them, Asher eyeing from the side the entire time. He then looked back at Lucy. “Did you see that guy?”

She nodded excitedly. “Yeah, fuck yeah, I did. He’s hot. Challenge me to jump on that.”

Asher let out another sigh. “No. I think he’s trouble.”

“And? Your point? You know I like trouble.” Asher said nothing as they locked eyes. Her expression changed. “You’re really serious.” He nodded. “What’s going on, man?”

“The girl at the bar…my challenge…I think she’s in trouble. With him.” He said, trying to be as quiet as possible, just in case his voice was overheard by the wrong person.

“What makes you think that?”

He shrugged. “I don’t know. Just a feeling.” He exhaled, his mind already going to work on what to do next. “All I know is that I went up to talk to her. I said hi, and then she bolted. I turned around and saw him walking in, looking mad at the fucking world. I felt like it didn’t take a rocket scientist to put two and two together.”

She nodded, before quickly shaking her head. “Look, whatever it is. Let’s not get involved. Its not our fight or anything. She probably pissed him off and took him. He’s just here looking for her.”

Asher glanced down. “I saw her face.”

“What do you mean?”

“She was crying. She looked scared out of her fucking mind. That’s something to worry about. That’s a reason to get involved.” He said, locking eyes with Lucy once again.

“You’re serious? You’re really going to get involved? Jesus man…” She said, exhaling heavily.

He nodded. “I think I have to.”

She glanced down, shaking her head. “What are you going to do?”

“I think she went into the pisser. I’m going to go in after her. Do you have your phone on you?”

“Uh, yeah? Why?”

He stood from the table. “Keep your eyes on him, and text me if you see him making his way toward us.”

“This is so fucking stupid.” She replied. “But alright.”

Asher walked through the crowd, keeping his eyes locked on the bathroom. He passed by the women’s, which had an out of order sign. He grabbed it, placing it in front of the men’s room, before stepping inside. He looked around before taking a step or two toward the stall. He figured she was in there. He let out a deep breath. “Are you okay?”

He went to speak again, only to feel his phone vibrate in his jeans. He saw it was a text from Lucy, once he removed it from the pocket. It said: “He’s coming your way.”

Asher drew in a deep breath, his mind still at work, plotting things as he went along. He locked the door, just as he heard a thud. He dropped down to one knee, to see the girl from the bar had dropped to the floor. A loud knock came on the door. Asher rolled his eyes. “Taking a shit!” He said, wondering why he immediately went to that.

“Bathroom is out of order.”

Sliding under the stall door, Asher let out a loud groan, figuring he needed to stick with the story he had conjured up. He checked the girl, and she had a pulse. He looked up and saw a window. He let out another groan, as he began to text Lucy, telling her to get the rest of the group to huddle up in the alley outside the bar, before he addressed the guy at the door. “Brother, once I’m done in here…” Another groan. “That will be the understatement of the fucking year.”

His phone went off. It was Lucy. “Why?”

Another groan, but more out of annoyance. “Just do it.” He texted back, before climbing onto the toilet as quietly as possible. He opened the window, little by little, until it was completely open. He told himself she’d fit. He received another text, letting him know the group was outside. He replied. “Catch her.”

Scooping her up and struggling a little bit, letting out grunts and groans here and there, Asher managed to get her hanging out of the window, feet first. He climbed back onto the toilet, keeping his arms under her. He took a deep breath, pushing her the rest of the way out as he exhaled, hoping for the best. He closed the window, as quickly as possible before quietly climbing down off the toilet, flushing it in the process. There was some smell good spray so he really went to town with that, before he finally opened the door, and there he stood.

“Bathroom’s out of order, bro.” Asher stated.

“Seemed to work fine for you.” The brute stated, coldly.

Asher shrugged. “Well, I really had to go. What can I say? Fucking wings and beer, man. I’ve never had the beer shits like that.”

“Whatever you say. Excuse me.” He said, bumping his shoulder into Asher’s. It felt like a brick wall had slugged him, but Asher stepped side, waiting until the door was closed, before bolting out of the bar, going into the alleyway.

That was where he found her. “What the hell guys?”

Lucy looked at him. “What? She’s fine. The trash caught her.”

Asher rolled his eyes before helping the girl to her feet. “I need to get her out of here. Call me a cab or something.”

“Jesus. I told you not to get involved.”

“Just do it.” Asher growled as he began to drag the girl out of the alley. Lucy hailed a cab, and it pulled up. Asher opened the door and let the girl slump into the backseat. He turned to Lucy. “Thanks. I will give you two orgasms for this. We know I can’t do anything other than that.”

“I hope you know that you’ve not given me one.”

“Bullshit.” He scoffed.

She turned serious. “What are you going to do now?”

Asher looked at the girl before locking eyes with Lucy once again. “I don’t have the slightest clue, but I spoke to that guy in there. He’s bad news. I can’t help but think that.”

Lucy’s phone went off, causing them both to grow quiet. She read it then looked back at him. “Josey says he’s heading for the exit. You better get out of here.”

Asher nodded. “Tell Josey I said thanks.” He climbed into the cab and told the driver to go. They pulled into traffic, and he looked out the back window, just in time to see the brute step outside. The driver asked where they were headed. Asher gave him his address, then slumped down into the seat, letting out a deep breath with a hint of relief.

“Is she alright?” The driver asked somewhere down the road.

Asher looked at her and shrugged. “I don’t know. I sure as shit hope so, though.” He looked away, resting his head against the seat, and he asked himself just what in the hell he was going to do once she woke up. 

______________________________________

SHOOT-eth

So, guess what? Your boy lost. Yeah, he lost the SCW Adrenaline Championship again. It is a sad state of affairs. I guess I need to get on social media and cry foul. Or just cry period. Isn’t that what the cool kids do these days? From the top of the card to the very bottom, it seems to be the way of the world in pro wrestling terms. Maybe I am old. Maybe I can’t really keep up with all the overdramatic fuckery that occurs in this industry.

I dare to be different! A hero amongst heroes. Or old fucks such as myself. I’ve not quite decided. Now, sure I stir up shit on the social media front, by flirting with ladies such as Kandis and that great big ass of hers. Its hypnotic. Hell, I’d drop a few lines to Syren or Selena. We all like the same thing. We could trade tips, or pointers in how to play the thigh game. But, you won’t hear no crying ass bitching from me, like there seems to be, on everybody’s CD…

Wait, that was a pop culture reference very few in this place will actually get. But just because it now plays on the classic rock station despite coming out in the early 2000s, doesn’t make it any less true. I’ve been back almost a full year, and I find myself getting to a point where I want to be serious. I’m slipping into a new pair of shoes, and I am preparing to embark on a new journey. I’m accepting a mission from the Gods of Pro Wrestling, and I don’t mean Shilo Valiant. And that mission is very simple. It is time to take on the overdramatic nonsense in this industry.

It’s all too much.

It is all just plain ignorant.

This is meant to be fun. I like to have fun. But trust me, when I get into the ring, I am all go, ladies and gents. And if you think my mindset, or my newfound personal crusade to be ignorant, then that just means you are part of the problem. It just means you need to be pimp slapped and eradicated.

Now, I would have loved nothing more than to do this to one young lion by the name of Owen Cruze. Yeah, we were booked to go one on one with one another, but word spread that I was coming with a vengeance, and he took it way out of context, turning it into something it wasn’t, so he got the week off. Ah, to be young, dumb, and full of cum, am I right?

Maybe I will get that match with Owen so he and I can have a little sit down, before we flip the tables over and tear into one another before I kick his ass from pillar to post in the end of it all. We shall see. For the time being, since I am me and I don’t really like having weeks off, I will step into the ring with two, that’s right…two, not one…but two opponents who I feel are two prime examples of the overdramatic nonsense that needs to burned to the ground.

I’m looking at you, Jake Starr and even you Scarlet Grey. And don’t worry, sweetheart, I’m looking you directly in the eyes.

And why am I looking at you in the eye, Scarlet? You see, there is this stigma connected to me, and I’m not talking drug addict. This stigma states that I am all about the sex, instead of the glory that comes along with this business. I won’t lie. I like sex. If you weren’t so bat shit crazy, I’d make a run at you, but after the show of course. Like I said, when its time to compete, I am there to compete. But that is why I’m looking at you in the eye. You’re bat shit crazy.

You’re dangerous.

I’m not sure if you remember, but I still do. Back in October of last year, you and I had a match. It was right before my rematch against another bat shit crazy lady named Regan Helms. But, during our match Scarlet, you tried to injure me. Yes, you had just come off your recent loss to Datura a week or so before. You destroyed her leg, and she had to take time off. You were riding a rush of adrenaline, because you tried to do the same to me.

You tried and you failed. I put you away for the win, and I left you lying in the ring. Now, I stand here scratching my head, because there’s just something about you I don’t quite comprehend. You are that dangerous in the ring. You could go out and you could actually win matches, become a champion, really establish a name for yourself in this industry, and yet all you seem to worry about is your body. You want to sell yourself by your looks, and you think that is going to get you somewhere.

Let me tell you. That worked back in the late 90s, when this industry was pumped full of attitude. But in this day and age, it takes a lot more than some tits and ass to make it. You rely far too much on the overdramatic. Scarlet, its ignorant. You’re letting yourself go to waste. Maybe that is a hinderance of being bat shit crazy. You can’t tell the difference between success and failure. Well, if that is the case, then I have something I can run by you, and that is my knee, coming straight for your skull. Maybe that will knock some sense in you.

Either way, whatever you’re doing now it needs to die, like all these other groups rising up to emulate the Wonderland, because there can only be one…otherwise, you can keep doing what you’re doing but take it outside the ring. Go be a valet, and I can stomp the rest of you into history.

And speaking of history, we have a little bit of that don’t we, Jake?

Let’s go back to 2009. It was a hell of a time to be alive, and to be part of the SCW, wasn’t it? I was moving my way up the card, fighting for the SCW World Championship, defending the SCW Tag Team titles, even landing myself a win to become the United States Champion. You waltzed in and took this company by storm, winning the Adrenaline Championship in what…your second or third match? It was like destiny that our paths crossed, wouldn’t you say?

It was Champion versus Champion, your title against my title. It ended up in a screwjob finish. You got the win, and then we never met again. You went onto become a legend in this company. You’re a four-time SCW World Champion. You’ve held every championship that you could possibly in this company, some more than once. You have faced the best, and you have beaten the best, Jake. No one can ever question your position in this industry, or the status you’ve obtained.

And then you have me. A guy who has come and gone. A guy who has been called every name in the book despite what side of the line I stand on. A guy who never quite achieved his full potential. Yeah, I have heard that so many times in my career, but I’ve not let it slow me down. You’ve achieved it all, and when I look at you now, Jake…I can’t help but shake my head, dude. You’ve done it all, and now you’re just meh about being here. You could care less about wins and losses. You could care less about your spot on the card.

You simply do not care.

And while that isn’t overdramatic, it is nonsense. It is just plain ignorant.

Now, you may not be the same jackass you were when you bitched about not getting this match, or that match. Hell, you paved the way for everyone to bitch, moan, and complain on social media before it was really a thing. I guess you truly are a trendsetter, aren’t you Jake?

You see while you decided to just show up whenever to do promos, or give a damn other times than when you’re in a title match…while you decided to just coast off you’re past accomplishments, while screaming at the top of your lungs that you will remind everyone of just who the fuck you are…I worked my ass off to heal up and overcome obstacle after obstacle in order to get better. I found myself again. I rediscovered my passion for this business, and here I am, ready to go.

While I found myself, it seems you’ve lost your balls. Hell, your sister has more balls than you do. She has stepped her game way the hell up. And just a few months ago, you were hogging all the spotlight, doing the interviews, leaving Jordan in the background. The girl can cut a promo. The girl can do all kinds of things. She is on the up and up in this company, showing that fire and that hunger you seemed to have left years ago, because you bought way too much into your own legend, your own hype.

That’s not me, Jake. I am the kind of guy who picks himself up and moves forward. If I make a mistake, I do all I can to get better. That is who I am, Jake. The world has never forgotten me, and I don’t have to shout as loud as I can to be remembered. They know I refuse to get complacent. I refuse to just settle, Jake and that will be proven true because I refuse to just sit back and let this match go through the motions. I refuse to be anything but the last man standing.

If you think you are just going to coast through this match based off your name value, or the high horse you got placed on shortly after you came back, then I will definitely knock you off your perch. See you at Breakdown.

Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust…

And for those of you who want to brush me off, or chuckle at my words, go ahead. Just know that I’m only getting started.

 

 

Leave a comment